Last time I wrote about this I X’ed out the name of the legitimate company that the fraudulent e-mail claimed to represent. This time I’m including the name since it’s the second one I’ve received supposedly from this company.
Be aware, I don’t blame the company at all for these e-mails. This company’s reputation is basically being attacked by these jerks. I’m including it so that if anyone else gets a similar e-mail they’ll know that it’s junk and delete it.
I’m also posting this because the fraudulent asses are really pressing the “Danger! Fraud!” angle to try to legitimize their pitch.
The subject for this e-mail was “IMPORTANT NOTICE! PLEASE READ! “PHISHING” ALERT”
This is the e-mail
IMPORTANT NOTICE! PLEASE READ! “PHISHING” ALERT
Recently, members of the Susquehanna Bancshares, Inc. received a phony email which looks as if it was sent by Susquehanna, and directing them to a web site that is a counterfeit copy of the real Susquehanna Bancshares, Inc. web site. There, members were asked to input their credit card numbers and PIN. DO NOT DIVULGE THIS INFORMATION!
We will never send you an email asking for this sensitive information, which, by the way, we already have. The email itself is not harmful, and can safely be deleted like any other piece of junk email. Authorities are currently working to shut down the counterfeit site, which is located overseas. Thank you for your cooperation in this matter!
For your security, your account has been temporarily locked out of the system. You will not be able to make purchases with your card while this lock is in place. Please call customer service line at 1-800-643-1651 for further assistance.
The address and the company both are legitimate. They are the only things in the e-mail that are legitimate. The phone number is not a Susquehanna Bancshares, In. number. That was easily verified by going to the company’s website.
The website has a warning about phishing attempts and actually provides a good deal of information about various ways people might try to steal your identity. Susquehanna also asks that if you get any e-mails claiming to be from them to forward them to reportfraud@susquehanna.net.
If you get an e-mail like this from a company that you do business with, don’t call the number in the e-mail. Find a statement from the company and get the number from the statement. That way you know the number is legitimate. If you get a phone call making a similar claim don’t give the caller any information. Once again, you want to get a bill and get the number from there to call back.
Sadly, we can’t trust anyone these days. Too many assholes are out there trying to steal other people’s identities.


