<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>Cant Keep Quiet! &#187; Vishing</title>
	<atom:link href="http://cantkeepquiet.com/category/fraud/vishing-fraud/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://cantkeepquiet.com</link>
	<description>"Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so." - Douglas Adams</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Fri, 13 Aug 2010 22:25:27 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=2.8.5</generator>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
			<item>
		<title>(407) 000-0000</title>
		<link>http://cantkeepquiet.com/2009/10/18/407-000-0000/</link>
		<comments>http://cantkeepquiet.com/2009/10/18/407-000-0000/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 18 Oct 2009 19:56:26 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Laura</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Fraud]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Vishing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://cantkeepquiet.com/?p=1563</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I keep getting calls from (407) 000-0000 on my cell phone.  I have never answered and I never will, but it is beginning to annoy me.
First off, I don&#8217;t answer my cell phone if I don&#8217;t know the number calling.  I quit answering when I didn&#8217;t know the number years ago because when I first [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I keep getting calls from (407) 000-0000 on my cell phone.  I have never answered and I never will, but it is beginning to annoy me.</p>
<p>First off, I don&#8217;t answer my cell phone if I don&#8217;t know the number calling.  I quit answering when I didn&#8217;t know the number years ago because when I first got my number I kept getting calls from people trying to reach the previous number or sell me stuff.  I figure if the caller really wants to talk to me they will leave a message.</p>
<p>I&#8217;m never going to know who the 000-0000 number is because I will never answer the phone and they will never leave a message.</p>
<p>It&#8217;s probably a telemarketer or someone vishing.  Vishing is phone based phising where someone calls you or you get a recorded message that tries to get you to give up personal information.</p>
<p>I&#8217;m not interested in buying anything from a telemarketer nor do I plan to give personal information out over the phone to someone I don&#8217;t know.  If the 000-0000 caller is in either group than they are wasting their time on me.</p>
<p>Another possibility is that the person is using the internet to call me.  I don&#8217;t think this is likely, though, because if it was someone I knew they would leave a message.</p>
<p>Anyway, if you ever get a call from any area code 000-0000 then don&#8217;t answer.  It&#8217;s 90% likely that the caller wants to sell you something or steal your identity.</p>

<!-- start wp-tags-to-technorati 1.01 -->

<!-- end wp-tags-to-technorati -->]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://cantkeepquiet.com/2009/10/18/407-000-0000/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>4</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Another &#8220;vishing&#8221; e-mail</title>
		<link>http://cantkeepquiet.com/2008/07/08/another-vishing-e-mail/</link>
		<comments>http://cantkeepquiet.com/2008/07/08/another-vishing-e-mail/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 08 Jul 2008 17:49:46 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Laura</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Fraud]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Vishing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[vishing]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://cantkeepquiet.com/?p=1220</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Last time I wrote about this I X&#8217;ed out the name of the legitimate company that the fraudulent e-mail claimed to represent.  This time I&#8217;m including the name since it&#8217;s the second one I&#8217;ve received supposedly from this company.
Be aware, I don&#8217;t blame the company at all for these e-mails.  This company&#8217;s reputation [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Last time I wrote about this I X&#8217;ed out the name of the legitimate company that the fraudulent e-mail claimed to represent.  This time I&#8217;m including the name since it&#8217;s the second one I&#8217;ve received supposedly from this company.</p>
<p>Be aware, I don&#8217;t blame the company <strong>at all </strong>for these e-mails.  This company&#8217;s reputation is basically being attacked by these jerks.  I&#8217;m including it so that if anyone else gets a similar e-mail they&#8217;ll know that it&#8217;s junk and delete it.</p>
<p>I&#8217;m also posting this because the fraudulent asses are really pressing the &#8220;Danger! Fraud!&#8221; angle to try to legitimize their pitch.</p>
<p>The subject for this e-mail was &#8220;IMPORTANT NOTICE! PLEASE READ! &#8220;PHISHING&#8221; ALERT&#8221;</p>
<p>This is the e-mail</p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><strong><span style="color: #990000;"><span style="font-family: Arial; font-size: x-small;">IMPORTANT NOTICE! PLEASE  READ! &#8220;PHISHING&#8221; ALERT</span></span></strong></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;">
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><span style="font-family: Arial; color: #000000; font-size: x-small;">Recently, members of the Susquehanna  Bancshares, Inc. received a phony email which looks as if it was sent by  Susquehanna, and directing them to a web site that is a counterfeit copy of the  real Susquehanna Bancshares, Inc. web site. There, members were asked to input  their credit card numbers and PIN. <strong>DO NOT DIVULGE THIS  INFORMATION!</strong></span></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><span style="font-family: Arial; color: #000000; font-size: x-small;">We will  never send you an email asking for this sensitive information, which, by the  way, we already have. The email itself is not harmful, and can safely be deleted  like any other piece of junk email. Authorities are currently working to shut  down the counterfeit site, which is located overseas. Thank you for your  cooperation in this matter!</span></p>
<p style="padding-left: 30px;"><span style="font-family: Arial; font-size: x-small;">For your  security, your account has been temporarily locked out of the system. You will  not be able to make purchases with your card while this lock is in place. Please  call customer service line at <strong>1-800-643-1651</strong> for further  assistance.<br />
</span><span style="font-family: Arial;"><span style="font-size: x-small;"><span id="ctl00_SiteFooter1_lblFooterCopyright"><br />
Copyright © <span id="ctl00_SiteFooter1_lblYear">2008</span> Susquehanna Bancshares,  Inc.  | </span> <span id="ctl00_SiteFooter1_lblFooterAddress">Susquehanna  Bancshares, Inc.  26 N. Cedar Street  Lititz, PA  17543-7000</span></span></span></p>
<p>The address and the company both are legitimate.  They are the only things in the e-mail that are legitimate.  The phone number is not a Susquehanna Bancshares, In. number.  That was easily verified by going to the <a href="http://www.susquehanna.net/" target="_blank">company&#8217;s website</a>.</p>
<p>The website has a warning about phishing attempts and actually provides a good deal of information about various ways people might try to steal your identity.  Susquehanna also asks that if you get any e-mails claiming to be from them to forward them to                                          <a id="ctl00_cphContent_HyperLink7" href="mailto:&#x72;&#x65;&#x70;&#x6f;&#x72;&#x74;&#x66;&#x72;&#x61;&#x75;&#x64;&#x40;&#x73;&#x75;&#x73;&#x71;&#x75;&#x65;&#x68;&#x61;&#x6e;&#x6e;&#x61;&#x2e;&#x6e;et">&#x72;&#x65;&#x70;&#x6f;&#x72;&#x74;&#x66;&#x72;&#x61;&#x75;&#x64;&#x40;&#x73;&#x75;&#x73;&#x71;&#x75;&#x65;&#x68;&#x61;&#x6e;&#x6e;&#x61;&#x2e;&#x6e;et</a>.</p>
<p>If you get an e-mail like this from a company that you do business with, <strong>don&#8217;t</strong> call the number in the e-mail.  Find a statement from the company and get the number from the statement. That way you know the number is legitimate.  If you get a phone call making a similar claim don&#8217;t give the caller any information.  Once again, you want to get a bill and get the number from there to call back.</p>
<p>Sadly, we can&#8217;t trust anyone these days.  Too many assholes are out there trying to steal other people&#8217;s identities.</p>

<!-- start wp-tags-to-technorati 1.01 -->

<p class='technorati-tags'>Technorati Tags: <a class='technorati-link' href='http://technorati.com/tag/vishing' rel='tag' target='_self'>vishing</a></p>

<!-- end wp-tags-to-technorati -->]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://cantkeepquiet.com/2008/07/08/another-vishing-e-mail/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>1</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>

